SPECIAL INTEREST GROUPS

World Leisure Special Interest Groups (SIGs) work towards the future challenges in the field of leisure research, education, knowledge transfer, and advocacy.

Member-generated and member-driven, SIGs provide a space for WLO members to meet and work together at a global level.

Connect, Work Together & Contribute

Connect, work together and contribute to common projects within an international relevant leisure community of academics, professionals and decision makers at global level.

  • Participate actively at WLO organized and co-organized events, projects and activities.
  • Submit and publish your own news and promote them through an international network.
  • Be proactive and organize any activity that will be supported by a community of academics and professionals, practitioners and decision makers around the globe.

Want to get  involved in any of the current Special Interest Groups? 

See here below the current Special Interest Groups and facilitators names and contact details. Feel free to raise your voice and connect with them!

If any questions, contact us!

If you would like to develop and/or promote a new SIG, please share your ideas, comments and views by sending an email to  secretariat@worldleisure.org.

  • Your name, organization and email address.
  • Name of the proposed topic with a short description.
  • Reasons why this topic needs to be addressed (societal/scientific relevance)
  • Possible collaborators

Current Special Interest Groups
and Facilitators Names

management

Leisure Management

Dr.  John R Tower, Ph.D., Victoria University, Australia. John.Tower@vu.edu.au

Dr. Jo An Zimmermann, Ph.D., Texas State University, USA. jz15@txstate.edu

diversity

Diversity, Access and Inclusion

Jerome F. Singleton, Ph.D., CTRS, Dalhousie University, Canada. Jerome.Singleton@Dal.Ca

children

Leisure for Children and Youth

Cari E. Autry, Ph.D., CTRS, Florida International University, USA. cautry@fiu.edu

education

Leisure Education

Atara Sivan, Ph.D., Hong Kong Baptist University, Hong Kong. atarasiv@hkbu.edu.hk

wellbeing

Leisure and Well‐being

Teresa Freire, PhD, Universidade do Minho, Portugal. tfreire@psi.uminho.pt

ageing

Leisure in Later Life/Ageing

Megan Janke, Ph.D., East Carolina University (ECU), USA. jankem@ecu.edu

gender

Leisure and Gender

Heather Gibson, Ph.D., University of Florida, USA. hgibson@hhp.ufl.edu

innovation

Leisure and Innovation

Lénia Marques, Ph.D., Erasmus University of Rotterdam, the Netherlands. marques@eshcc.eur.nl

travel

Travel and Tourism

Liza Berdychevsky, Ph.D., University of Illinois at Urbana‐Champaign, USA. lizabk@illinois.edu

economic

Community and Economic Development

Joanne A. Schroeder M.A. Leisure Service Admin., Vancouver Island University, Canada. joanne.schroeder@viu.ca

sport

Leisure and Sport

Mogens Kirkeby, International Sport and Culture Association (ISCA), Denmark. mk@isca-web.org