Special Interest Groups

World Leisure Special Interest Groups

World Leisure Special Interest Groups (SIGs) work towards the future challenges in the field of leisure research, education, knowledge transfer, and advocacy.

Member-generated and member-driven, SIGs provide a space for WLO members to meet and work together at a global level.

Connect, Work Together & Contribute

Connect, work together and contribute to common projects within an international relevant leisure community of academics, professionals and decision makers at global level.

  • Participate actively at WLO organized and co-organized events, projects and activities.
  • Submit and publish your own news and promote them through an international network.
  • Be proactive and organize any activity that will be supported by a community of academics and professionals, practitioners and decision makers around the globe.

Current Special Interest Groups and Facilitators Names

Leisure Management and Policy
Dr.  John R Tower, Ph.D., Victoria University, Australia. John.Tower@vu.edu.au
Diversity, Access and Inclusion
Jerome F. Singleton, Ph.D., CTRS, Dalhousie University, Canada. Jerome.Singleton@Dal.Ca
Leisure for Children and Youth 
Cari E. Autry, Ph.D., CTRS, Florida International University, USA. cautry@fiu.edu
Leisure Education 
Atara Sivan, Ph.D., Hong Kong Baptist University, Hong Kong. atarasiv@hkbu.edu.hk
Leisure and Well‐being 
Teresa Freire, PhD, Universidade do Minho, Portugal. tfreire@psi.uminho.pt
Leisure in Later Life/Ageing 
Laura Payne, Ph.D., University of Illinois at Urbana‐Champaign (UIUC), USA. lpayne@illinois.edu
Leisure and Gender 
Heather Gibson, Ph.D., University of Florida, USA. hgibson@hhp.ufl.edu
Leisure and Innovation
Lénia Marques, Universidade Aberta, Lisboa, Portugal. lenia.marques@ua.pt
Travel and Tourism 
Liza Berdychevsky, Ph.D., University of Illinois at Urbana‐Champaign, USA. lizabk@illinois.edu
Community and Economic Development 
Joanne A. Schroeder M.A. Leisure Service Admin., Vancouver Island University, Canada. joanne.schroeder@viu.ca
Leisure and Sport 
Mogens Kirkeby, International Sport and Culture Association (ISCA), Denmark. mk@isca-web.org

If any questions, contact us!

If you would like to develop and/or promote a new SIG, please share your ideas, comments and views by sending an email to  secretariat@worldleisure.org.

  • Your name, organization and email address.
  • Name of the proposed topic with a short description.
  • Reasons why this topic needs to be addressed (societal/scientific relevance)
  • Possible collaborators